Church Mission Society (CMS)

Introduction to the community

We are a community of people set free to follow God’s call in mission. Our vision is to see all God’s people engaged in God’s mission, bringing challenge, change, hope and freedom to the world. Our focus is to see both individual disciples and communities of disciples set free to play their part in the mission of God. Our common commitment is: to participate in mission, to learn from mission and to pray for mission.

Church Mission Society has always had a significant community feel about it, being a membership Society, whose members associated together in order to promote and support evangelistic mission. A spread-out network of local members and associations quickly grew up. Some members even refer to CMS as their “family”. A transforming community life was also part of CMS mission service, in mission compounds, mission schools and hospitals and the various CMS training colleges.

Church Mission Society had a major influence in forming what today is called the Anglican Communion, about two-thirds of whose Churches trace their origins to the missionary movement fostered by CMS or have had CMS contributions to their early growth and development. Over its 200-year existence, CMS has sent out about 10,000 people in mission.

Community members make an affirmation, which they are encouraged to renew annually, including a commitment to participating in mission service, regular prayer, bible reading, study, reflection, supporting the Church’s mission, and mutual encouragement. Church Mission Society supports people in mission in over 40 countries in Africa, Asia, Europe (including the UK), the Middle East and Latin America.

Contact details

01865 787400

Address: Church Mission Society, Watlington Road, Oxford, OX4 6BZ

Community information

Date of foundation:
1799; acknowledged as mission community 2008
Registered Charity number:
No. 1131655 (England and Wales); SC047163 (Scotland); Company No. 6985330

Bishop Visitor: Rt Revd Dr Christopher Cocksworth, Bishop of Coventry



Chair of Trustees: Charles Clayton

Chief Executive Officer: Alastair Bateman

Community issues: Marcio Ciechanovicz


2,500 +