Community of Sts Barnabas & Cecilia (CSBC)

Introduction to the community

The Community of Sts Barnabas & Cecilia came into being in 1997, when the then Bishop of Willochra in South Australia, the Rt Revd David McCall, called Sisters Jean Johnson and Sandra Sears to Jamestown in the State’s mid north to form Community. Since then the Community house has moved twice – to Peterborough in 1998, and Gladstone in 2011. The community is open to men and women (as reflected by the double title), married and single, who are practising members of any Christian denomination. They live in their own environment, and are free to exercise their own gifts. This means that the Community is dispersed throughout the three dioceses of South Australia. The charism of the Community is ‘Encouragement’ – of gifts in each other, in our churches and in the wider community.

Vows are renewed every year at our annual retreat, held at the Community House, with a service at St Alban’s, Gladstone. The vows are chastity, simplicity, and obedience to the Bishop under God. Our habit is a grey alb, navy blue scapular, and blue girdle (with three knots). Our cross has fluted tips (redolent of the rose which symbolises St Barnabas) with a raised Celtic harp at its centre (symbolising St Cecilia).

CSBC Renewal of vows 2019

Contact details

(61 8) 8662 2504; 0400 157709 (mobile)

c/o Revd Sister Sandra Sears CSBC
17 Sixth Street, Gladstone, South Australia, Australia 5473
Personal email:

Community information

Date of foundation:
January 1997

Bishop Visitor: Rt Revd John Stead, Bishop of the Diocese of Willochra

Chaplain: Fr Simon Bailey, Gawler



In a Dry and Thirsty Land, Anglican Diocese of Willochra 2015. (A publication to celebrate the centenary of the Diocese.)

Revd Sr Sandra Sears CSBC, Community of Sts. Barnabas & Cecilia, 1997-2017, self-published, 2017.

Third Order, Fellowship, Associates

We have Friends of the Community who support us in prayer and in practice.


Spokesperson (3-year term): Sister Sue Nirta CSBC
Assumed office April 2017


Revd Sr Sandra Sears
Revd Sr Sal Tatchell
Sr Sue Nirta
Sr Riccarda Favorito
Br Martyn Robinson
Sr Bev Driver
Sr Pauline Treloar
Sr Katherine Thorpe
Sr Cheryl Wiseman
Sr Susan Coleiro

Members who have died since the last Yearbook:

2 May 2017 – Jeanne Frost, aged 89, professed 11 years
22 Feb 2019 – Revd Br John Edwards, aged 89, professed 18 years