Community of the Holy Name (CHN), Zulu Province

Introduction to the community

The Community of the Holy Name in Zululand was founded by three Zulu Sisters who began their Religious life with the Community in Leribe. All three Provinces of CHN have the same Rule of life, but there are differences of customary and constitutions to fit in with cultural differences. The daily life of the Community centres around the daily Office, and the Eucharist whenever the presence of a priest makes this possible.

The Sisters are involved extensively in mission, pastoral and evangelistic work. The Zulu Sisters have evangelistic gifts, which are used in parishes throughout the diocese at the invitation of parish priests. Several Sisters have trained as teachers or nurses. They work in schools or hospitals, where possible within reach of one of the Community houses. Their salaries, and the large vestment-making department at the Convent at Kwa Magwaza, help to keep the Community solvent. The sisters also facilitate the care of many orphans in their extended families.

CHN Provinces worldwide

CHN Zululand

Contact details

3545 02892
035 450 7564

Main house:
Convent of the Holy Name, Pt. Bag 806, Melmoth 3835, Zululand, South Africa

Other houses:

PO Box 175, Nongoma 3950, South Africa

St Benedict House, PO Box 27, Rosettenville 2130, South Africa

Community information

Date of foundation:
1865 (in UK), 1969 (in Zululand)

Bishop Visitor: Rt Revd Monument Makhanya, Bishop of Zululand



Provincial Superior: Mother Phindile CHN
Assumed office 23 January 2020

Assistant Superior: Sister Benzile CHN

Deputy Superior: SisterPatricia CHN


Sister Claudia
Sister Olpha
Sister Sibongile
Sister Zodwa
Sister Mantombi
Sister Bonakele
Sister Nonhlahla
Sister Jabu
Sister Thulisiwe
Sister Thembelihle
Sister Sebenzile
Sister Thandazile
Sister Thandiwe
Sister Nondumiso
Sister Duduzile
Sister Patricia
Sister Nqobile
Sister Sibekezelo
Sister Philisiwe
Sister Nokubongwa
Sister Nomathemba
Sister Thandukwazi
Sister Zamandla
Sister Sindisiwe
Sister Bongile
Sister Maureen
Sister Neliswa
Sister Hlengiwe
Sister Nkosikhoma
Sister Thembekile
Sister Sizeka
Sister Thandeka
Sister Nonkululeko

Members who have died since the last Yearbook:

2018 – Sister Nokuthula
2019 – Sister Samukelisiwe

2021 – Sister Thokozile

2022- Sister Nestar Gugu