Community of the Sisters of the Church (CSC), Solomon Islands Province

Introduction to the community

Founded by Emily Ayckbowm in 1870, the Community of the Sisters of the Church is an international body of lay and ordained women within the Anglican Communion. We are seeking to be faithful to the gospel values of Poverty, Chastity and Obedience, and to the traditions of Religious Life while exploring new ways of expressing them and of living community life and ministry today. By our worship, ministry and life in community, we desire to be channels of the reconciling love and acceptance of Christ, to acknowledge the dignity of every person, and to enable others to encounter the living God whom we seek.

The Community’s patrons, St Michael and the Angels, point us to a life both of worship and active ministry, of mingled adoration and action. Our name, Sisters of the Church, reminds us that our particular dedication is to the mystery of the Church as the Body of Christ in the world.

Each house has its own timetable of corporate worship. The Eucharist and Divine Office (usually fourfold) are the heart of our Community life.

Community houses provide different expressions of our life and ministry in inner city, suburban, coastal town and village settings.

CSC Provinces worldwide

Contact details

Addresses of houses:

Tetete ni Kolivuti, Box 510, Honiara

Patteson House, Box 510, Honiara
Tel: 677 22413 & 677 27582

PO Box 7, Auki, Malaita
Tel: 677 40423

St Gabriel’s, c/o Hanuato’o Diocese, Kira Kira, Makira/Ulawa Province
Fax: 677 50128
Mobile: 7553947

St Mary’s, Luesalo, Diocese of Temotu, Santa Cruz
Mobile phone: 7440081

St Scholastica’s House, PO Box 510, Honiara

Sisters of the Church, Henderson, PO Box 510, Honiara

Community information

Date of foundation:
Arrived in Solomon Islands 1970. Established as separate Province 2001.

Bishop Visitor: Rt Revd Nathan Tome, Bishop of Guadalcanal


A Valiant Victorian: The Life and Times of Mother Emily Ayckbowm 1836-1900 of the Community of the Sisters of the Church, Mowbray, London, 1964.

Ann M Baldwin CSC, Now is the Time: a brief survey of the life and times of the Community of the Sisters of the Church, CSC, 2005.

Third Order, Fellowship, Associates

Associates are men and women who seek to live the Gospel values of Simplicity, Chastity and Obedience within their own circumstances. Each creates his/her own Rule of Life and has a Link Sister or Link House. They are united in spirit with CSC in its life of worship and service, fostering a mutually enriching bond.


Mother Superior: Sr Marguerite Mae Eamon CSC, Canadian Province
Assumed office 1 December 2019

Provincial: Veronica Vasethe CSC
Assumed office March 2017

Assistant Provincial: Emily Mary Ikai CSC


Agnes Maeusia
Anneth Kagoa
Beglyn Tiri
Betsy Samo
Caroline Havideni
Catherine Tawai
Daisy Gaoka
Doreen Awaisi
Ellen Marou
Jennifer Clare
Jessica Maru
Kristy Arofa
Lillian Mary Manedika
Margaret Mauvo
Mary Gharegha
Mary Gladys Nuanga
Mary Kami
May Peleba
Neslyn Elonoda
Patricia Kalali
Phyllis Sau
Priscilla Iolani
Rachel Teku
Rita Zimae
Rosa Catherine Paherikeni
Ruth Hope Sosoke
Shirley Hugo

Novices: 4
Postulants: 5
Members who have died since the last Yearbook:

4 Dec 2017 – Kathleen Kapei, aged 45, professed 15 years