Society of Saint Francis (SSF), Papua New Guinea Province

Introduction to the community

SSF friars first went to Papua New Guinea in the late 1950s. It became part of the Pacific Province created in 1981 and then in 2008 became a Province in its own right.

SSF Provinces worldwide

Contact details

Addresses of Houses:

Saint Mary of the Angels Friary, Haruro, PO Box 78, Popondetta 241, Oro Province, PNG

Martyr’s House, PO Box 35, Popondetta, Oro Province, PNG
School Tel & Fax: 3297 491

Ukaka Friary, PO Box 784, Alotau, Milne Bay Province, PNG

Community information

Date of foundation:

Bishop Protector: Rt Revd Tennyson Bogar, Bishop of Dogura

Deputy Bishop Protector: Rt Revd Lindsay Ihove, Bishop of Popondota



Minister Provincial: Anthony Kambuwa SSF, elected 25 November 2020

Assistant: Laurence Hauje SSF


Charles Iada
Colin Velei
Dominic Ombeba
Jerry Ross
Nathaniel Gari
Oswald Dumbari
Wallace Yovero

Novices: 1