The Sisters of Saint Gregory (SSG)

Introduction to the community

The Sisters of Saint Gregory is a women’s community canonically recognized by the Episcopal Church. The community is comprised of lay and clergy, young and old, regardless of marital status. Called together by God to the vowed life in the world, we live intentionally dispersed, some individually and some with our families, supporting ourselves and the community through secular or church-related employment performed in a spirit of service. Sisters are also encouraged to serve their parishes and dioceses and other church-sponsored or civic outreach programs. We follow a Rule of Life that requires the Daily Offices in the Book of Common Prayer, prayer and meditation, the Holy Eucharist, Embertide reports, a tithe, and participation in an annual convocation and chapter for retreat, business, fellowship and worship. The formation program includes a one-year postulancy and two-year novitiate with spiritual and theological study. After five years in annual vows, a Sister may elect to make life profession.

Contact details

(905) 515-0608

Address: c/o Revd Sr MaryCatherine Robertson SSG, Box 251, Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada N4G 4H5

SSG does not own property. The contact information is for the Treasurer, who receives and routes all communications.

Community information

Date of foundation:
Founded in 1987 as the Companion Sisterhood of Saint Gregory by the Brotherhood of Saint Gregory. Achieved autonomy in 1999 as The Sisters of Saint Gregory.

Bishop Visitor: Rt Revd Dr Carol J. Gallagher, Bishop, Regional Canon, Diocese of Massachusetts



Leader: Revd Sr Dr Connie Jo McCarroll SSG (deacon)
Assumed office 2019

Administrator: Revd Sr MaryCatherine Robertson SSG (deacon)
Assumed office date


Sr Lillian-Marie DiMicco
Sr Carin Bridgit Delfs (priest)
Sr Eugenia Theresa Wilson (deacon)
Sr Mary Ann Rhodes (deacon)

Novices: 1
Members who have died since the last Yearbook:

27 Sep 2017 – Sr Helen Bernice Lovell, aged 93, professed 26 years