The Third Order, Society of St Francis (TSSF), African Province

Introduction to the community

The Third Order of the Society of Saint Francis consists of men and women, ordained and lay, single or in committed relationships, who believe that God is calling them to live out their Franciscan vocation in the world, living in their own homes and following ordinary professions. Like the First Order Friars and Sisters and Second Order Nuns, The Third Order members, (called Tertiaries) encourage one another in living and witnessing to Christ through a Rule of Life that includes prayer, study and work. The Third Order is worldwide, with a Minister General, and five Ministers Provincial to cover their respective Provinces.

TSSF Provinces worldwide

Contact details

+27 21 671 6199

Main address:
2A Avenue de Mist, Rondebosch, 7700, Cape Town

Provincial Secretary:
Reitumetse Hlongwane
c/o 2A Avenue de Mist, Rondebosch, 7700, Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

Community information

Date of foundation:

Bishop Protector: Most Revd Dr Daniel Yinka Saro, Ghana



Minister Provincial: Rev Dr Michael Twum-Darko TSSF


Professed: 109

Novices: 34