Society of Saint Francis (SSF)

Introduction to the community

There are three different paths, or ‘Orders’ within the Society, paths which were founded by Francis himself in the thirteenth century, although our particular expression of the Franciscan life within the Anglican Communion goes back only to the early twentieth century. Further information can be found at

The First Order consists of brothers (Society of St Francis – SSF) and sisters (Community of St Francis – CSF – who make vows of poverty, chastity and obedience, live in community, pray together, and undertake active work of many kinds.

There are First Order brothers in Australia, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Sri Lanka, the UK, and the USA, arranged into five Provinces.

Each has their own entry in the Yearbook.

See also the separate entries for:

Contact details


(+61) 439 006161

Address of Minister General: Brother Christopher John SSF, Hermitage of St Bernardine, PO Box 46, Stroud, NSW 2425, Australia

Community information

Date of foundation:
See entries for individual Provinces

Bishop Protector General: Rt Rev’d John Stead, Bishop of Willochra, South Australia



Minister General: Br Christopher John SSF, Assumed office: July 2017

Assistant Minister General: Br Benedict SSF


Total membership: 101

Novices: Total: 30